Stewards deliver verdicts after investigating Valtteri Bottas and Mercedes

Penalty for Valtteri Bottas; no furꦯther action♎ against Mercedes

Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Sauber. Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 6, Miami Grand Prix, Miami, Florida, USA, Sprint Qualifying
Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Sauber. Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 6, Miami Grand Prix, Miami,…

Valtteri Bottas has been penalised by FIA stewards at the F1 Miami Grand Prix, but Mercedes a꧅re off the hoo🌊k, after separate incidents.

Sauber’s ♔Bottas has been hit w﷽ith a three-place grid drop for Saturday’s sprint race.

Bottas was dri✃ving slowly on the racing line during sprint qualifying on Friday, when 🐻Oscar Piastri approached.

P🀅iastri was on hi💛s flying lap, and both cars needed to carefully avoid each other.

Bottas and Sauber admitted that the dri🌞ver was not told via radio by his team that he was being approac🌟hed by Piastri.

Bottas was deemed at fault by the stewards w෴꧑ho dropped him three places on the starting grid, meaning he will start from the back.

“The primary responsibility rests with the driver to ensure that he does not place himself in a position whereby he unnecess🍸arily impedes another driver,” the stewards stated.

Williamཧs’ Logan Sargeant and Alex Albon both move forwards one🌟 place, as a result.

No further action against Mercedes

There was no penalty for Mercedes after the stewards inves♌tigated a pitlane inci♍dent.

Lewis Hamilton’s mechanics appeare൩d to work on his car 🌜in the pits without wearing helmets, which is a rule breach.

Mercedes were summoned to th🍰e stewards in Miami but were not hit with a punishment.

The stewards noted: “As we were examining the conduct of the team in relation to this infringement (which was reported to us by race control), it came to our attention that a number of other teams had engaged in similar work without hel𒅌mets and/or without eye protection during the session either within the pit stop position or in close proximity to it.

“Certainly, those that were working on the car within the pit stop positions would also have been in breach of Article 34.13 (for example by touching the car or jackiꦿng up the car). Indeed, those slightly outside of their pit stop position may not been 🔯in breach of the above article but the distinction, from a safety perspective (which is the likely purpose for this rule), was not obvious to us.

“Furthermore, it appears to be the established practice to jackꦰ the car up, while blowers are used to cool the brake﷽s, within the pit stop position to bring the car back into the garage. That too, read strictly, could be in breach of the above regulations.

“So, in these circumstances, penalising one team, where all or near𒁃ly all the teams ♉may potentially have been in breach of this article in some form or the other would not serve a useful purpose.”

Read More